How Transgender Britain Strikes Back

Billie Burton
8 min readJun 19, 2024

A strategy for transgender Britain to strike back at a movement causing it irreparable harm and begin the journey toward long-term accountability and change.

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

INTRODUCTION

In a recent article, I asked ‘how do trans people win’ in the context of human rights advocacy. While it was well-received and much discussed, I only intended it to start the conversation. Today, I take it further. Over the subsequent five months, I sought to better understand the anti-transgender movement in the United Kingdom in terms of society, politics, and media. I have focused on the situation in the UK because I believe the uniquely fragile community faces a truly existential threat. Among other things, I argue in an upcoming article in The Advocate that the American context, while not better, differs in the existence of checks, balances, and powerful organizations that routinely intervene on the community’s behalf. Guided by my intimate understanding of my home community’s plight, I have workshopped and developed several approaches and responses to this crisis.

Only one remains.

There is another version of this story where I worked quietly with UK organizations and activists to further develop this idea, make it work, and make it happen. Instead, consider this the soft launch.

--

--

Billie Burton

Hi, I'm Billie! I write mostly about my mental health recovery and my gender transition journeys.